Parenthood’s a Punk

A few weeks ago, I began feeling like I really had this two kid thing down. Routines were going nicely, Ladybug was being extremely well-behaved, StrawBee was sleeping longer, and Dear Boy and I had more time for each other than we had had in a while. I began thinking, “Man, this isn’t nearly as hard as I would’ve thought.” I’d also been reading MckMama’s blog and telling myself, “Hey, maybe I could do that. Many small children all in a row would be fun!” I was surprised and impressed with my ability to handle my small brood, and just generally cheerfully pleased with my life.

Parenthood, however, is a punk.

Within a few days, all of my smug self-satisfaction lay in pieces around my feet. Ladybug had shown a sudden penchant for picking on her sister and pitching screaming fits 10 times a day. StrawBee caught a nasty cold and wasn’t (still isn’t) sleeping at night. Dear Boy tried to help me with the suddenly out-of-control kiddies and fell behind at school, forcing him to turn all of our “us” time into “DB and studying” time.

I exerienced a 180 in my attitude towards my children and the possibility of more. (More?! Are you kidding?! I’m ready to sell these ones to the highest bidder!) I looked in the mirror and realized that for the first time since LadyBug had been born, I was happy with my non-pregnant body (I always love my pregnant body–post-partum not so much; an attitude I’m working on) and thinking maybe I don’t really want to stretch it out again.

Fascinating, isn’t it, how just a few days can completely change one’s outlook? Fortunately I’ve learned not to take any outlook changes that occur on less than 4 hours of sleep seriously. While frustrated, out-of-sorts, and exhausted, I keep telling myself that just as the calm couldn’t last forever, neither can the craziness.

Right?

About Carolynn the Dyer

If I've learned one thing by having three children in four years, it's that babies are not, in fact, the best birth control. ... Okay, just kidding. I've really learned that laughter is the only way to survive the wilds of parenthood, and life in general. Also, that it is indeed possible to do dishes, parent, and carry on a conversation at the same time. If that sounds like fun, or just impossible, then come join me on my blog--and join me in the jungle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

